The Early Years are vital for a child’s social, emotional, physical and academic development.  The Foundation Stage creates the essential building blocks for future learning. At Sholden Church of England Primary School, we have an ethos where children flourish in a safe, nurturing, creative and inspiring environment.  Our child centred approach offers children opportunities to explore and learn with the support and guidance of experienced Early Years practitioners. We embed the Characteristics of Effective Learning in daily routines and promote many skills through both teacher led and child initiated sessions. We challenge our children with problem solving activities, encourage risk taking and perseverance, and support them with negotiating their ideas with others. Life skills develop through a wide range of creative, topic led activities and promote critical thinking. We foster collaboration, creativity, resilience and reflectivity in all of our children across all areas of the curriculum to ensure they are independent, life-long learners.

We aim to ensure: 

  • That children access a broad and balanced curriculum that gives them the broad range of knowledge and skills needed for good progress through school and life 
  • Quality and consistency in teaching and learning so that every child makes good progress and no child gets left behind 
  • A close working partnership between staff and parents and/or carers 
  • Every child is included and supported through equality of opportunity and anti-discriminatory practice 

Our early years setting follows the curriculum as outlined in the latest version of the EYFS statutory framework that applies from September 2021. 

The EYFS framework includes 7 areas of learning and development that are equally important and inter-connected. However, 3 areas known as the prime areas are seen as particularly important for igniting curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building children’s capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.  

The 3 prime areas are: 

  • Communication and language 
  • Physical development 
  • Personal, social and emotional development  

The prime areas are strengthened and applied through 4 specific areas: 

  • Literacy 
  • Mathematics 
  • Understanding the world 
  • Expressive arts and design


Curriculum Overview

Knowledge Progression

Statutory Framework for EYFS 

Progression in EYFS